La DEA voit une baisse notable de la criminalité Bitcoin

L'activité criminelle derrière les transactions Bitcoin est passée de 90 % il y a environ cinq ans à seulement 10 %, dit la DEA.

Cependant, l'agent responsable de l'enquête, qui fait également partie d'un groupe de travail sur la cyberenquête de la DEA, affirme que le montant associé à l'utilisation criminelle de Bitcoin a augmenté notablement depuis 2013.

« Le volume a augmenté énormément, le montant des transactions et la valeur monétaire a augmenté énormément au fil des ans dans les activités criminelles, mais le ratio a diminué », a révélé l'agent spécial Lilita Infante.

« La majorité des transactions (Bitcoin) sont utilisées pour la spéculation sur les prix (illégale). »

LIRE LA SUITE : Les craintes de blanchiment d'argent de Crypto sont infondées

Infante a également déclaré que les organisations criminelles, y compris les cartels de la drogue, utilisent de plus en plus les crypto-monnaies pour blanchir leurs profits mal acquis et pour les transferts transfrontaliers d'argent parce qu'elles sont moins coûteuses, plus rapides et plus sûres que les systèmes bancaires traditionnels.

Les conclusions de l'agent spécial suggèrent que contrairement à la perception répandue, Bitcoin n'est plus principalement utilisé pour l'activité criminelle et aussi que les criminels qui utilisent криптовалюты le font plus à cause de ses caractéristiques que sa volatilité des prix.

Épée à double tranchant

L'agent de la DEA explique que pour les criminels, le Bitcoin est une épée à double tranchant en raison de sa technologie sous-jacente, que les agents de police utilisent pour suivre les transactions et les schémas. Elle affirme également qu'auparavant, les adresses de portefeuille facilitaient l'anonymat des criminels, mais « plus maintenant ».

LIRE LA SUITE : Les kidnappeurs en Afrique du Sud demandent une rançon à Bitcoin

Infante croit que les organisations criminelles et les individus continueront à utiliser des crypto-monnaies car ils peuvent facilement blanchir de l'argent en achetant des Bitcoin et en l'échangeant ensuite contre des devises fiat dans des échanges de crypto et de pair à pair.

« En fait, je veux qu'ils continuent de les utiliser », ajoute-t-elle. « La blockchain nous donne en fait beaucoup d'outils pour être en mesure d'identifier les gens. »

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by the author should not be considered as financial advice. We do not give advice on financial products.

telegram

Previous Article

Asian financial hubs lead crypto pack as US stutters

Next Article

Hema rolls out food tracking system in China

Read More Related articles

Latest Guides

Find in-depth articles, guides and videos designed to give you a better understanding of Bitcoin, DeFi, trading, security and much more.

Get started

DEA sees notable drop in Bitcoin crime

The Drug Enforcement Administration says criminal use of Bitcoin has dropped dramatically, but the volume of cryptocurrency involved has increased since 2013

Criminal activity behind Bitcoin transactions has dropped from 90% about five years ago to only 10%, says the DEA.

However, the agent leading the investigation, who is also on a 10-person DEA Cyber Investigative Task Force, says the amount associated with the criminal use of Bitcoin has increased notably since 2013.

“The volume has grown tremendously, the amount of transactions and the dollar value has grown tremendously over the years in criminal activity, but the ratio has decreased,’’ revealed Special Agent Lilita Infante.

“The majority of (Bitcoin) transactions are used for (illegal) price speculation.’’

READ MORE: Crypto money laundering fears are unfounded

Infante also said criminal organisations, including drug cartels, are increasingly using cryptocurrencies to launder their ill-gotten profits and for cross-border money transfers because it is cheaper, faster and more secure than traditional banking systems.

The special agent’s findings suggest that opposite to widespread perception, Bitcoin is no longer mainly used for criminal activity and also that criminals that do use the cryptocurrency do it more so because of its features than its price volatility.

Double-edged sword

The DEA agent explains that for criminals, Bitcoin is a double-edged sword because of its underlying technology, which policing officials use to track transactions and patterns. She also states that previously, wallet addresses made it easy for criminals to remain anonymous, but “not anymore”.

READ MORE: Kidnappers in South Africa demand ransom in Bitcoin

Infante believes that criminal organisations and individuals will continue using cryptocurrencies as they can easily launder money by purchasing Bitcoin and then exchanging it for fiat currencies in over-the-counter and peer-to-peer to crypto exchanges.

“I actually want them to keep using them,’’ she adds. “The blockchain actually gives us a lot of tools to be able to identify people.”

Related Articles